Sarah Hayes
Portland

What is your job title, and what does that position entail?
I am a Client Account Rep which entails; order processing, purchasing, invoicing, shipping and assisting our clients as needed.

How long have you worked at Olympus, where did you come from?
I have worked for Olympus since November 2014. I had previously worked for Leviton Mfg for 5 years prior to coming to Olympus.

Can you tell us a little about your background and how it helps you in this position?
I have been working in customer service since 2007, first with an insurance company and then with Leviton. Both of my previous rolls have contributed to my customer service skills. My Leviton experience had a huge impact as I did many of the same things I do here at Olympus; processing orders, taking customer calls and answering emails. It also allowed me to become very familiar with the terminology of the industry and how distribution works as a whole.

What are some key lessons you have taken from your career thus far?
In my short time here at Olympus I have learned that there ARE good companies to work for who appreciate and take care of their employees. I don’t have to be just a number. I am appreciated and my opinions are able to be heard here at Olympus. This is a great lesson, as no one should feel stuck in a job that they don’t feel appreciated. I plan on owning a business someday and will make my company just as awesome to work for as Olympus.

What do you like best about working at Olympus?
Olympus knows how to have fun! Olympus makes a fun work environment with lots of benefits for the employees. There is always some sort of fun event, or happening going on in the office. It really builds employee morale and makes our 8 hour work day really enjoyable.

What was your first job ever?
My first job ever was working at the local Newspaper in my home town of Raymond, WA when I was 16. I started as a part time receptionist and doing random tasks around the office. I worked my way up to being a graphic artist and then production manager, before I left to move to the big city of Portland.

Describe some of your hobbies – what do you like to do outside of work?
Outside of work I spend most of my time playing with my kids and hanging out with my husband. I also enjoy tending to my garden, learning guitar, playing music, cooking and camping.

What is one thing your customers might find surprising about you?
One surprising fact about me is that I am the proud mother of twins. Some days it still surprises me! My girls just turned 2 years old and are a ton of fun! Along with my 4 year old son, my kids keep me pretty busy!